Danske soldater ved NATO’s fremskudte tilstedeværelse i Estland gør klar til skarpskydning.

Danish soldiers at NATO's advanced presence in Estonia. Photo: Danish Defence.

NATO's enhanced Forward Presence (eFP), in the Baltic States and Poland was decided by the heads of states and governments at the NATO Summit in Warsaw in 2016.

The purpose of eFP is to strengthen the Alliance's deterrence and defence profile by demonstrating solidarity and the will to protect NATO's territory. At the same time, eFP is a response to the uncertainty that has been caused by, among other things, Russia's illegal annexation of Crimea, the invasion of Ukraine and the development of a generally more complex security environment. Almost all of the NATO countries contribute to eFP.

How does Denmark contribute?

In March 2022, Denmark deployed up to 200 soldiers as a part NATO’s enhanced Forward Presence. The soldiers will be based in Estonia through 2022, as a part of a British-led battalion. The deployment itself will take place as part of military activities within the framework of the Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF), which includes countries such as United Kingdom, Sweden and Estonia.

Denmark deployed a similar contribution in 2020. The basis for the Danish contribution is the parliamentary decision B150, which was adopted on May 23, 2017.

  • flag Place

  • shield Operation strength

  • event Period of time

    Fra 2016
  • info Current